We believe this site might serve you best:

United States

United States

Language: English

Promega's Cookie Policy

Our website uses functional cookies that do not collect any personal information or track your browsing activity. When you select your country, you agree that we can place these functional cookies on your device.

Our website does not fully support your browser.

We've detected that you are using an older version of Internet Explorer. Your commerce experience may be limited. Please update your browser to Internet Explorer 11 or above.

Preparing for Expert Witness Testimony on Probabilistic Genotyping

Rachel Oefelein
Quality Assurance Manager/Senior DNA Analyst, DNA Labs International

Rachel Oefelein is currently the Quality Assurance Manager/Senior DNA Analyst at DNA Labs International (DLI). She received her MSc in Forensic Science from the University of Strathclyde, and her BS in Criminal Justice, with a Forensic Science Minor, from Loyola University of New Orleans. Rachel worked at the Armed Forces DNA Identification Laboratory (AFDIL) for nearly five years and previously interned at Instytut Ekspertyz Sądowych, the Forensic Laboratory in Krakow, Poland. Her courtroom experience includes testimony in four Florida counties, two states and three countries including misdemeanor and felony trials as well as both Arthur and Daubert hearings. Rachel is actively involved in animal rescue, an avid traveler and enjoys golf and yoga in her free time.

Alicia Cadenas
Laboratory Supervisor/Technical Leader, DNA Labs International

Alicia Cadenas is currently the Laboratory Supervisor/Technical Leader at DNA Labs International (DLI). She received her MS in Forensic Science from Florida International University and her BS in Biology from Nova Southeastern University. Alicia previously worked at the Virginia Department of Forensic Science in the Forensic Biology section for over six years. She also participated in a research appointment at the FBI’s Counterterrorism and Forensic Science Research Unit as a Visiting Scientist. As Technical Leader, Alicia was involved in the validation and implementation of STRmix at DLI and has analyzed multiple casework samples since its inception. 

  • Rachel Oefelein and Alicia Cadenas

  • DNA Labs International (DLI)

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Time: 10am CST/ 11am EST/ 8am PST
           4pm London/5pm Amsterdam-Paris

The rise of probabilistic genotyping has driven the need for effective ways to describe the results to judges, attorneys and juries. In this webinar, Rachel Oefelein and Alicia Cadenas of DNA Labs International (DLI) will address potential questions and response options typically covered in testimony around probabilistic genotyping. They will also discuss testifying in admissibility hearings on probabilistic genotyping systems.

Additional Webinar Information:

With approximately half the forensic laboratories in the United States either using a probabilistic genotyping system or in some stage of implementation, cases processed using this method are now making their way through the court systems. Additionally, probabilistic genotyping has been used at the international level for nearly a decade. As scientists make the adjustment to reporting probabilistic genotyping analyses, they must also transition to explaining these same results to judges, attorneys and juries. In this webinar, Rachel Oefelein and Alicia Cadenas of DNA Labs International (DLI) will address potential questions and response options typically covered in both Direct Examination and Cross Examination of expert witnesses testifying to probabilistic genotyping. They will also discuss testifying in admissibility hearings on probabilistic genotyping systems. The speakers have testified to probabilistic genotyping in eight jurisdictions in both American and British court systems since going online in 2016.