We believe this site might serve you best:

United States

United States

Language: English

Promega's Cookie Policy

Our website uses functional cookies that do not collect any personal information or track your browsing activity. When you select your country, you agree that we can place these functional cookies on your device.

Our website does not fully support your browser.

We've detected that you are using an older version of Internet Explorer. Your commerce experience may be limited. Please update your browser to Internet Explorer 11 or above.

Ask the Experts: Energy Metabolism Assays

Michael Valley, PhD

Michael (Mike) Valley is a Senior Research Scientist in the Assay Design Group at Promega. He earned a B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Illinois and a Ph.D. in Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics from the University of Minnesota. He has been trained as an enzymologist, and since joining Promega in 2004, he has been applying his enzymatic skills to a variety of luminescent assays. These include reporter assays (ONE-Glo™, Renilla-Glo®, and Nano-Glo®), drug metabolism assays (MAO-Glo™), and viability assays (CellTiter-Glo® 2.0 and CellTiter-Glo® 3D). He is now working on metabolite detection assays, most recently developing a luminescent assay to measure glucose uptake by cells (Glucose Uptake-Glo™).

Donna Leippe, PhD

Dr. Donna Leippe has spent over 18 years developing technologies and leading research projects as a Senior Research Scientist in R&D at Promega. She is a member of the Assay Design group and focuses on developing bioluminescent technologies for cellular metabolism research.  This has included assays for measuring cellular cofactors (NAD/NADH-Glo™ and NADP/NADPH-Glo™ Assays) and multiple cellular metabolites (Lactate-Glo™, Glucose-Glo™, Glutamate-Glo™ and Glutamine/Glutamate-Glo™ Assays). Donna joined Promega after completing her graduate and postdoctoral work at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where she studied Viral Immunology at the Institute for Molecular Virology and the McArdle Laboratory for Cancer Research.

  • Dr. Michael Valley and Dr. Donna Leippe

  • Senior Research Scientists
    Promega Corporation

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Live Webcast Time:
9:00am CST/10:00am EST/7:00am PST
3:00pm London/4:00pm Amsterdam-Paris

Are you just getting started monitoring cellular metabolism, or do you have questions about your assay system? Whether you are studying cancer, diabetes, stem cells or other changes in cellular states, cellular metabolism is affected.

Join our experts in a live question and answer session where they address your questions and offer tips on assay normalization and cell differentiation.

Additional Webinar Information:

Energy metabolism is key for cellular function. When there are changes to energy metabolism as a result of disease states like cancer or diabetes, the dysfuction can be measured using cellular metabolism assays. Being able to distinguish perturbations in metabolism or testing compounds that could mitigate or suppress the metabolism changes due to disease is an important part of cutting-edge research.

In this live Q&A session, Dr. Donna Leippe and Dr. Mike Valley will answer your submitted questions and other common questions researchers have about performing cellular metabolism assays. They will share their experience developing, performing and supporting assays used to monitor metabolite consumption and production, along with glucose uptake rates, in cell types such as cancer cells, T cells and differentiated adipocytes. We recommend submitting your questions at registration, but you may ask questions during the live session.